Fiction Food Friday Guest Post by Author Chelsea Camaron

image

We owe Chelsea some big thanks here at Life in Print, she threw this together for us while visiting family. THANK YOU !

image
image

Daddy’s Girl, the importance of the Men in our lives

A daughter first learns about love from her Dad.  He shows her how she should be treated in how he treats her and her mother.  He sets the expectation for all others to follow.  Now, I know in some situations this is not the case.   Sometimes this example is a negative one and for others a positive one.
Here is a little Chelsea Camaron personal life…….my Dad is not my biological Dad, matter of fact on paper he’s not my Dad at all.  You see, my biological father, is the negative example, he bailed when I was a baby, drugs and feeding his addiction were a bit more important than me.  My Dad now and Mom were married when I was sixteen years old, but being an old family friend, there isn’t a time in my life I don’t remember my Dad being a part of.  I don’t know how it is everywhere else, but I grew up in a small Coastal North Carolina town.  In the South you will find these small towns, deep rooted in tradition.  My parents started their relationship when I was just ten years old.  My mom had to work a lot so rather than me be home alone, my dad took me to work with him.  He owns his own garage, so I spent my days after school and summer, handing him tools, answering phones, organizing and shelving parts.  To this day, I am an avid car fanatic.  My dad has loved both my mom and I unconditionally.  When I started dating, he did the typical Dad meet boy, set the rules, and Dad scare boy routine.  To this day, my Dad is the one I go to when I need solid advice.  He is my rock.
He’s the best and he has molded me into the woman I am today.  All the Dad moments in my Daddy’s Girls series stem from some experience with my Dad.  Yes, he really did send me on dates with a small gas can and hammer (Restore My Heart) – this was 1997 cell phones weren’t what they are today.  Yes, he really did give me the “this house isn’t a drive thru speech” found in Full Throttle (to be released June 21st).  My Dad has been the security I’ve needed throughout and I can’t put into words just how much he means to me.
I’ve been blessed that this amazing man came into my life to fill a role abandoned by a lesser man.  I know that not every girl gets to have what I have in my Dad.  For those of you that do, or those of you who see your husband’s giving their all to your children, be sure to say an extra special Thank You this Father’s Day.  We are some lucky ladies!!!!! J

image

 In NC pulled pork bbq with hushpuppies and sweet tea are summer staples…….you will find two types of bbq sauce both famous Carolina BBQ sauces in their own right.  For us coastal folks we like a more vinegar based sauce which has a little more kick others a little more inland sometimes like a sweeter sauce which has more of a ketchup base.  Here are two great sauce recipes from my Dad.  If you don’t have a pig cooker to cook a whole hog, you can get Boston Butts from your local grocery store, cook them and chop fine into BBQ.

image

 
Piedmont Style Ketchup based BBQ Sauce
1 1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Place in an airtight container and refridgerate for at least a day, allowing the flavors to blend. Shake well before using.

Coastal Carolina Vinegar Based Sauce
1 cup cider vinegar
1 tablespoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flake
1 tablespoon brown sugar
Mix all ingredients thoroughly.  Place in and airtight container and refridgerate for at least a day, allowing the flavors to blend.  Shake well before using. 
 
Happy Summer BBQing 🙂

Purchase Links
 
Salvaged (Daddy’s Girls)

Restore My Heart (Daddy’s Girls)

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

image

Bookish Thoughts
Crys and Manda

One thought on “Fiction Food Friday Guest Post by Author Chelsea Camaron

  1. Jenny Dauksa Schaber says:

    My honey takes such good care of me – especially when I’m feeling down, have been sick and when I was bedridden for a period of time. He really impresses me every time he attempts to do everything that I normally do on a day to day basis. It doesn’t happen nearly enought, b ut that’s OK. I have less to fix that way. I really don’t know what I would do without him. I am so blessed.

Leave a Reply

