Fiction Food Friday Recipe and Review from “In Spades

Welcome to our new feature we are calling this Fiction Food Friday! Our goal here is to make and keep reading fun so tell us if you want more. Thank you to K. Pinson for being a good sport and helping us out. Ms. Pinson provided the book. the recipe, and the short excerpt.
Short Review

image

In Spades by K. Pinson is a twisting and turning romance. A 3.75 beating hearts read.

image

I loved Dax and Ava annoyed me most of the book. But she was scarred and needed help. Get some counseling girl! The writing style was not my thing, there was just too much poor me, wah wah stuff. For those of you it bothers there are a few mistakes but nothing that takes away from the story.

image

It starts with a bang, literally, a shattered mirror showing a young woman scared by a childhood filled with abuse.

image

My Ava

Ava takes her autistic young sister into her heart and home after the suspected murder of their mother and the suicide of their father. Ava is a teacher and works weekends in a bar because we all know how incredibly well teachers get paid (sarcasm intended.) There she meets Faith and eventually the dark, sexy lead singer Daxton.

image

My Dax

Dax is just a Friday night bar band guy. But when Ava sees him using his music as therapy in her sister Abby’s classroom the drunken sex on his living room floor comes back to haunt her. Now Dax wants a real date and she says yes. So he COOKS for her, what a man! I’ll need smelling salts if he does dishes. After struggling through the mire of each of their pasts, the love grows. They do end up on the way to a wedding, but both of their pasts intrude on their happiness. Does it change the wedding plans? Do they get their happily ever after? I don’t know and you can’t find out until book 2. Holy Hell of a cliffhanger! A play on Paul Harvey here we need the rest of the story.

image

Taste of Home picture

Dax’s Mexi-Lasagna – K. Pinson

1lb.  lean ground beef
1/2 cup  chopped onions
1/2 cup  chopped green peppers
2-1/2 cups  Thick ‘N Chunky Salsa
1 can  (11 oz.) whole kernel corn, drained
1 small bag shredded lettuce
1cup of chopped tomatoes
12 corn tortillas (6 inch), divided
1Package of taco seasoning
1cup  Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese
1 can  (2-1/4 oz.) sliced black olives, drained

HEAT oven to 375°F.

BROWN meat in large skillet; drain. Return meat to skillet. Add onions & peppers; cook 3 to 4 min. or until crisp-tender, stirring occasionally. Add salsa, corn and seasoning; mix well.

LAYER 1/3 of the meat mixture and half each of the tortillas and cheese in 13×9-inch baking dish. Repeat layers; cover with remaining meat sauce. Sprinkle with Cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomatoes and olives.

BAKE 30 min. or until heated through.
image

Dessert (Excerpt)

So what’s for dinner?” I asked, hoping to get the focus off of me. 

“Well, if you would like to climb your pretty ass up on the kitchen table, I’d be more than obliged to eat you.” 

I whipped my head back to look at him and he busted out laughing. 

“I’m serious though Ava, you look good enough to eat.” He gave me his famous shit eating grin and I couldn’t help but smile back. 

This boy was going to be the death of me. True to his word, Daxton had made Mexi-Lasagna and it was melt in your mouth good. I seriously couldn’t stop the involuntary moans that were coming from my mouth every time I took a bite.

 “Who knew someone so hot could cook so well.” I had mumbled out in between bites. I barely came up for air during the entire meal. My nervous stomach had subsided and I was just diving in. 

“You think I’m hot?” Daxton asked and smirked at me. Damn his cocky self, why did he have to be so adorable? 

“I’ll never tell.” I smirked back. 

“Oh, you’ll tell me if you ever want me to cook for you again.” He slid my plate away from me and I snatched it so fast, I’m sure he caught whiplash. 

“That’s exactly what I thought babe.“ With a wink, he went back to finishing his meal.

Leave a Reply

